top of page

ATV safety training requirements

Please visit MN DNR link below to ensure you comply with all safety & Certification requirements

 

ATV safety training requirements | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us)

Ages 10 – 15:

  • Youth ages 10 – 15 first complete the ATV Safety Online Course at ATVcourse.com opens in a new browser tab.
     

  • Next, attend a Hands-on Safety class:  Students ages 10- 15 must register for a Hands-On ATV Safety Training class located on our Class Calendar (below).  A fee may be collected by the instructor.

 

  • The Hands-On training includes: Basic ATV operation; protecting the environment; common ATV parts and controls; MN rules and laws; responsible ATV riding skills for trail riding, and practicing/demonstrating skills on an ATV course. *Student must be fitted to the ATV they will be operating.
     

  • Students can print their ATV Safety Certificate from the DNR website after passing the Hands-On class. Instructions are provided during class (includes DNR fee of $10). The ATV Certificate becomes valid at age 12.

  • Anyone under the age of 15 may NOT operate a Class 2 ATV anywhere.  15 year olds with a valid ATV Safety Certificate may operate a Class 2 on the right shoulder or the extreme right-hand side of public road when accompanied by a parent or legal guardian on a separate ATV.

Ages 16 and older

Anyone born after July 1, 1987, or who is 16 years or older can complete the ATV safety online course at ATVcourse.com opens in a new browser tab (and pay all necessary fees online) to meet certification requirements. Not required to attend the ATV safety Hands-On class.

Alternate ATV safety training

Proof of completion of the ATV Rider Course offered by the All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Institute is adequate to meet the safety certificate requirements. The fee for the course is $55.

ATV RiderCourse enrollment  

Are you a parent of a child 6 – 9 years old?

Youth ages 6 – 9 years of age may complete the free study guide at ATV Free Study Guide opens in a new browser tab.

Free course designed to provide 6 –9 year olds with introductory and basic ATV safety information.

No riding performance course offered with this course. 

No certification upon completion of the study guide course.

References

Portions adapted from ATV safety training requirements | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us).  

ATV safety training requirements | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us) Retrieved April 23, 2023 from 
ATV safety training requirements | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us)

Portions adapted from Off-highway vehicle regulations | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us).  

Off-highway vehicle regulations | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us) Retrieved April 23, 2023 from 
Off-highway vehicle regulations | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us)

Portions adapted from Safety tips for riding off-highway vehicles | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us).  

Safety tips for riding off-highway vehicles | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us) Retrieved May 1, 2023 from Safety tips for riding off-highway vehicles | Minnesota DNR (state.mn.us)

Portions adapted from Off-Road Safety | Polaris.  

Off-Road Safety | Polaris Retrieved April 23, 2023 from Off-Road Safety | Polaris

bottom of page